Sie sind nicht angemeldet.

Vitter

Anfänger

  • »Vitter« ist der Autor dieses Themas

Beiträge: 12

Registrierungsdatum: 2. April 2014

Wohnort: Dänemark

: 5090

: 5.73

: 19

Danksagungen: 46

  • Nachricht senden

1

Mittwoch, 2. April 2014, 13:11

5 day rental in Germany. Sixt or Avis?

Hi,

i am thinking of going on a 5 day trip to Germany soon. Though i have been wondering where to rent a car. We're 4 people travelling, so it needs space.
In august we rented a car at Sixt in Flensburg, i am from Denmark BTW. After reading a lot on this site, i decided to book the SDMR class with Diesel + Automatic as a wish. I could make out that booking that car would probably give me an upgrade, and it did. We ended up with 12 days in a very nice Mercedes E200 CDI Avantgarde, great car, though a little lack of power. :203:

Now when looking at the prices i can get an SDMR car for around €450 , with full insurance.
But at avis (Wucherpfennig) i can get a K class, that's cheaper, about €350 but i am not sure about the size. I really want to get a German car, and it seems that avis has quite a large number of Citroens, Renaults and even Hyundais where as Sixt only seem to have BMW, Audi, Mercedes etc.

So, should i go for my well known Sixt? Or give avis a shot?

Best Regards
Victor

shadow.blue

...feiert das Leben.

Beiträge: 2 622

Registrierungsdatum: 20. Februar 2012

Wohnort: Kiel

Beruf: S.C.Henker

Danksagungen: 5037

  • Nachricht senden

2

Mittwoch, 2. April 2014, 13:23

Well, I think it would be the best if you rent again at Sixt Flensburg because the avis Station is very very very small and as you said, they often have non-german cars. But let me tell you that Sixt also has non-german cars in the fleet (mostly in the smaller categories).

I often rent at Sixt Flensburg and I'm always pleased and most of the time they have a 520d or similar (I can take a look at the station the day before your rent, just send me a message)

Maybe you can give us the period you want to travel (Mo-Sa?).

sijuherm

All-in

Beiträge: 1 014

Registrierungsdatum: 1. April 2009

: 11136

: 9.26

: 45

Danksagungen: 949

  • Nachricht senden

3

Mittwoch, 2. April 2014, 13:31

It depends on the group you book. Cars in avis group K are listed in our wiki (just click on K in the post). Sixt-equivalent would be something of Cxxx, e.g. CPMR, with only German Cars in this group. But beware of an upgrade! And automatic transmission isn't guaranteed.

You might want to take a look at avis Select: http://www.avis.de/selectseries

There you can book a guaranteed model, e.g. VW Golf GTI/GTD or MB C-Klass. You have to check out, if it's available at the station you want to rent the car.

shadow.blue

...feiert das Leben.

Beiträge: 2 622

Registrierungsdatum: 20. Februar 2012

Wohnort: Kiel

Beruf: S.C.Henker

Danksagungen: 5037

  • Nachricht senden

4

Mittwoch, 2. April 2014, 13:36

avis Select is not available in Flensburg.

Beiträge: 9 246

Registrierungsdatum: 26. März 2010

Danksagungen: 18993

  • Nachricht senden

5

Mittwoch, 2. April 2014, 13:41

Audi Zentrum Flensburg Vertriebs GmbH
Liebigstraße 8
24941 Flensburg
offers a "AUDI A6 Avant 3.0 TDI DPF quattro S tronic" for 154 € per weekend, including 1000 km. Maybe that is an option for you as well.
http://station.euromobil-partner.de/stat…chenende#Tarife
The euromobil pages are not always up to date, so a call for confirmation is necessary.

sijuherm

All-in

Beiträge: 1 014

Registrierungsdatum: 1. April 2009

: 11136

: 9.26

: 45

Danksagungen: 949

  • Nachricht senden

6

Mittwoch, 2. April 2014, 13:44

avis Select is not available in Flensburg.

I know, but since he didn't say where he's going to rent, it's worth a look!

Vitter

Anfänger

  • »Vitter« ist der Autor dieses Themas

Beiträge: 12

Registrierungsdatum: 2. April 2014

Wohnort: Dänemark

: 5090

: 5.73

: 19

Danksagungen: 46

  • Nachricht senden

7

Mittwoch, 2. April 2014, 13:51

Thank you very much for the quick respond.
The plan is to travel from Sunday - Thursday. The dates are 13-17 April. We're 4 people so i actually think the 1 Series, A class, Golf etc. might a bit small. And when booking SDMR i think theres a good chance of ending up in a 3 or 5 series, which i would really like to try out.
Also how does upsale work? Is it cheaper to try and get a larger car when picking up, or when booking?

What about Europcar in Flensburg are they any good in terms of fleet?

Thanks in advance!

Break

Zurück von den Toten.

Beiträge: 1 184

Registrierungsdatum: 20. Juli 2013

Wohnort: Karlsruhe

Beruf: Student des Wi.Ing.

: 13955

: 7.40

: 69

Danksagungen: 1303

  • Nachricht senden

8

Mittwoch, 2. April 2014, 13:55

Yeah, don't book Europcar, they're terrible. If you really want to make "sure" you get a german car, book FDMR, most of the cars in F upwards are german. Don't count on upsales, book what you actually want to drive.
Highlights 2014: 120d SAG, 330xd Touring (2x), 420d SAG Coupé, 535d Touring, Cooper S R56, E200 CGI Cabriolet, TT 2.0 TFSI Roadster Prollo-Paket
:love:

Vitter

Anfänger

  • »Vitter« ist der Autor dieses Themas

Beiträge: 12

Registrierungsdatum: 2. April 2014

Wohnort: Dänemark

: 5090

: 5.73

: 19

Danksagungen: 46

  • Nachricht senden

9

Mittwoch, 2. April 2014, 15:12

Ok,
i think i am going for an SDMR. I will write to you shadow.blue when final, then a look would be great. I will of course count on an upgrade but CLA, CC or Audi A3(DSG must) is good enough, but you can always hope for an upgrade. I will try and get pictures for a review or Erfahrungsbericht, on whatever i get. I didn't get that many pictures of the E200 CDI, but maybe i should make a review... hmm

Thank you for your opinions and for a very nice forum!

Copyright © 2007-2018 - mietwagen-talk.de alles über Mietwagen, Autovermietung und Carsharing.